Saturday, 12 November 2016


Vertebrates are multicellular animals that have a spinal column. They are classified into five groups: mammals, reptiles, fish, birds and amphibians.

What are the characteristics of mammals?
Respiration: All mammals have lungs to breathe air.
Mammals' bodies: Skin and hair cover mammals' bodies. In some animals, the hair is thick and called fur.
Extremities: Most terrestrial mammals have four legs, but human beings have two legs and two arms. Aquatic mammals have fins fro swimming. Many terrestrial mammals also have a tail.
Reproduction: Almost all mammals are viviparous. This means that female mammals give birth to live young. They produce milk to feed their young.
Photo from Fascinating animals from Feline anatomy.
Photo from Dolphins by Miss Hilda

What are the characteristics of reptiles?
Reptile bodies: Reptiles have hard scales to protect their body. Some reptiles have a hard shell.
Reproduction: Reptiles are oviparous animals. Their young are born from eggs. Reptiles lay their eggs on land.
Respiration: Reptiles have lungs to breathe air.
Extremities: Many reptiles have four legs, but snakes are reptiles that don't have legs.
Photo via flickr by pabloskijj.
Photo from understanding vertebrates.

No comments:

Post a Comment